Main image of first time Top Sportsman NHRA national event winner Chris Osborn's 1969 Camaro in the shutdown at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, OH.

Words by NHRA, Photos by Alex Owens

The final champions of the Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals were crowned at Summit Motorsports Park, more than two months after flooded grounds forced their postponement.

John DiBartolomeo claimed the win in Super Stock with his SS/BS ’96 Chevy with a 9.385 pass on his 9.37 dial against former world champ Keith Lynch, who broke out with a 9.612 on his 9.63 objective.

Stock glory went to Chuck Beach and his F/SA Barracuda after final-round opponent Jeffery Myers fouled.

Philip Smida was the winner in Super Comp, defeating Adam Gerber in the final round. Both drivers ran 8.908 but Smida’s .028 to 033 starting-line advantage earned him the win.

Jeremy Mason ran a near-perfect 9.905 to collect the hardware in Super Gas, defeating Tim Gillespie, who broke out with a 9.892.

The Top Dragster presented by Racing RVs victory went to Danny Nelson, who clocked a 6.194 on his 6.616 dial to defeat Tyson Fabish, whose greater-but-later 6.249 on a 6.24 dial finished as runner-up.

Chris Osborn notched the win in Top Sportsman presented by Racing RVs, wheeling a 6.718 on his 6.70 dial to defeat Sandy Wilkins, who broke out by .005-second with a 6.625.