Story by: Bob Johnson

Ryan Diosdado had a near-perfect day at Auto Club Dragway as he and Brian Fischle met in the final round of the K&N 890 Series presented by Blaster with the winner not only grabbing the event title, but the 2019 championship.  Diosdado got the win and the series title. 

Points leader Joe Lucas could have locked up the title in the second round of eliminations, but drew a red-light against Matt Fischle, opening the door for Diosdado and Brian Fischle with a shot for the championship, if either won the event.  That is exactly what came about.  Brian Fischle defeated David Wolf in his semifinal, and Diosdado advanced to the final with an 8.902 to Summer Richardson’s too quick 8.891.  In the final Fischle left the line with a better reaction time, but it was Diosdado’s win light that came on, 8.918, 158.97 to a losing 8.891, 168.62, for his first series title. In the Sunday non-points racer appreciation event, Les Matsukado of Honolulu defeated Gabriel Torres in the final round.

Sponsors of the 2019 K&N 890 Series include K&N Filters, Blaster, Lucas Oil Products, Tom Bayer Racing School, FTI Performance, Hoosier, Hughes Performance, Figspeed, Specialty Fasteners, Casner Racing Ent., Clawson Motorsports, California Car Cover, Swoop Motorsports, Meziere Ent., Mondello, Champion Cooling Systems, DJ Safety, and #1 Stop Products.