2019 NHRA North Central Division JEGS Super Quick Series Preview

With the mentality of, “There’s always room for improvement,“ changes were made over the offseason to spark even more interest into the 31st Anniversary NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series. These changes have nothing to do with the rule book this time, but instead trying to figure out a good way where more money is distributed to the racers who do not make it to the money round.

2018 eighth place JEGS Super Quick finisher Kyle Camp.

Participants have the chance to win certificates from a host of companies that support NHRA’s fastest eighth-mile bracket racing class, the NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series. Some of these companies helping out in 2019 include ThisIsBracketRacing.com, Firecracker Performance and JEGS with more companies to follow. As an added bonus, this year Spectra 1 Trophies will be supplying the Best Engineered and Best Appearing plaques. On site photography will also be available at six of the seven JEGS Super Quick events by Alex Owens. Check out photos or contact Alex though his website anytime at alkeyalexphotos.weebly.com

In 2019 the JEGS Super Quick Series will be contested at four different tracks with seven separated events taking place. The JEGS Super Quick opener will also be a double header at Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, IL on April 6th and 7th. Then a few weeks later the series will head to Lucas Oil Raceway in Brownsburg, IN on April 27th. Over Memorial Day weekend (May 25-26) as part of the NHRA SPORTSnational

Jeremiah Hall the 2018 JEGS Super Quick Division Champion.

National Open, the class will be contested at Beech Bend Raceway in Bowling Green, KY. In the heat of summer, Kil-Kare Raceway will host a double header in Xenia, OH on July 27th and 28th. Lastly, like in years’ past, the final event of the season will take place at the Fall Classic NHRA National Open in Brownsburg, IN from October 12-13. 


Firecracker Performance has stepped up to sponsor the Quick Shootout for participants in the JEGS Super Quick Series for 2019. This special race within a race will be run in conjunction with the Fall Classic NHRA National Open. The qualifying points earned at each of the six JEGS Super Quick Series events leading up to the shootout will determine the eight-car field. The Firecracker Performance Quick Shootout champion will receive $1,000, runner-up will secure $500, semi-finalists will take home $250 and the quarter finalists will pocket $150 giving more incentive to qualify as close to the 4.50 index as possible.

2018 JEGS Super Quick championship runner-up Dean "Burnout King" McIlvain.

In a recap of last season, Jeremiah Hall made it tough on everyone participating in the JEGS Super Quick class. Hall started the year with a runner-up finish at the season opening event at Gateway #1. Then, in the heat of summer, he strung back to back wins together at the rescheduled Gateway #2 race and the Bowling Green event in August. Racers Dean McIlvain, Mike Eggleston and James Shown put up a valiant effort, but came up short after all of the points were tallied.

For 2019, Jeremiah Hall will return as the Champ to defend his title. Racers Blake Peavler, Jay Oakley, Ken Storey, Jeff Libla, Frank Douglass, Tony Atchinson and George Atchinson, to name a few, will all be gunning for Jeremiah and his father Jerry.

The NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series is open to any style race car, dragster, door car, altered or funny car that can run 4.50 to 5.99 in the eighth mile. The quick 32 car field will utilize a sportsman ladder set after two qualifiers.

Jeremiah Hall hoisting the JEGS Super Quick Division Wally and check at the banquet.

All event winners will receive a Wally and $2,000 big check for their efforts. A racer’s five best finishing events will count toward the JEGS Super Quick divisional championship. At the annual Division 3 "Land of the Winners" awards banquet, the 2019 JEGS Super Quick Champion will earn $2,000 cash courtesy of JEGS High Performance, an NHRA champion’s trophy, jacket and an NHRA Gold Card good for the 2020 JEGS Super Quick Series.  The point’s runner-up will receive $1,000 and the third-place finisher will receive $500.